Sun extend Head Coach Macauley

The Okanagan Sun have re-signed Head Coach Ben Macauley to a one-year contract extension.

That deal will take him through to the end of the 2018 season, which will be Macauley’s third as head coach of the team.

Over that time, he’s lead the Sun to a regular season record of 15-4-1, including back-to-back playoff appearances.

“I’m excited to be back to work with this team,” said Macauley.

“I think we’re just at the start of something great, and this season really will be a chance to put our mark on the league. 2018 will be our best year yet.”

In Macauley’s tenure, the team has finished second in the BCFC and hosted a home playoff game in both seasons.

Sun President Les Weiss says the team is pleased with the direction that Macauley has taken the team, both on and off the field.

“We’re pleased to have extended Ben’s contract for the 2018 season. His hard work and dedication is evident when you look at all the young talent he was able to assemble last season, and we believe the organization is in good hands moving forward,” he said.

Macauley took over as head coach after the departure of Shane Beatty at the end of the 2015 season.

In a previous stint with the Sun, Macauley served as an offensive line coach in 2012 and 2013, before joining the staff of the Kelowna Secondary School Owls.

2017 Okanagan Sun Awards Banquet

The Okanagan Sun honoured its 2017 team on Monday night, with the annual Awards Banquet.

The award winners are chosen by the Sun coaching staff, with the exception of Most Popular Player, which is selected by the players on the team.

The Sun also paid tribute to the 10 players graduating from the team this season. They are: Beck Fullerton, Eli Haynes, Kent Lawrence, Liam Crane, Hayward Beasley, Rashaun Simonise, Gabriel St. Germain, Carter Comeau, Ryan Ewashko, and Zac Newman.

*The David Nagy Memorial Bursary is awarded every year, in honour of the former coach and member of the Sun organization. Nagy’s nephew Chris was on hand to award the bursary cheque to Elias Rodriguez. Players are eligible for the award if they’re in their second, third, fourth, or fifth season with the Sun, and are studying full-time at either UBCO or Okanagan College.

“Already a name that will be in the mix for Defensive Player of the Year…” the BCFC, Richard was called upon to return kicks as the Sun were at times desperate to gain momentum against a Rebels club that was shutting down the Sun offensively.

Richard had a strong afternoon, especially in the second half with a 53 yarder that he was inches from breaking for a touchdown. Richard’s kick returns may have been the only trouble the Sun gave the Rebels on this night –

Click HERE to vote for Conor to win the CJFL Fans Choice Award!


Background Photo Courtesy: All Sport Media

Sun @ Rebels Recap

After putting up 19 points against the Westshore Rebels in Week 1, the Okanagan Sun displayed the same offensive output on Saturday night in Langford.

Unfortunately, the Rebels dialed up 30 points of their own to hand the Sun their first loss of the season, and snatch first place out from under them in the process.

But the Rebels would tie the game shortly afterwards, with a Kyle Clarke 12-yard chip shot making it 3-3 before the end of the first quarter.

In the second, the Rebels got their first touchdown of the night, when another deep drive allowed Trey Campbell to run the ball in from 10 yards out, for a 10-3 score.

But the Sun would almost immediately respond, after starting their drive from inside Rebel territory, thanks to a lengthy kickoff return from Conor Richard, who also drew a flag for a facemask on the run.

Starter Nick Wenman would connect with Abdinasir Abdi on a 20-yard pass, tying the game 10-10, less than four minutes into the quarter.

But the Rebels would swing the momentum on a blocked punt, which eventually lead to a 47-yard field goal from Clarke with just less than five minutes left in the half.

That lead would become 20-10, with Campbell’s second touchdown of the game coming from five yards out, 64 seconds before the half.

In the second half, the Rebels continued to stifle the Sun, and earned the only points of the third quarter off a 20-yard field goal from Clarke.

Then on the first play of the fourth quarter, Rebels QB Scott Borden connected with Austin Lindo-Brow on a 33-yard pass, making it a 30-10 lead.

After Keith Zyla took over at quarterback for the Sun, he found Nate Anderson in motion on a pitch to the outside, to cut the lead to 30-17.

The touchdown came on a third and goal from just inside the five, with just over nine minutes left in the game.

But with late possessions ending in a turnover on downs and a goal-line fumble, the Sun forced the Rebels deep into their own end.

On a third down punt, the Rebels conceded a safety, and held onto the 30-19 lead for good.

Up next for the Sun, a semi-final matchup with the Vancouver Island Raiders at the Apple Bowl

next Sunday.

It’ll be their first meeting since the Raiders tied the Sun 31-31 in Kelowna on September 10.

Kickoff on Sunday is set for 1 pm.

As always the broadcast is available on BCFC TV, and will be simulcast locally in Kelowna on Shaw TV Okanagan.

The radio broadcast on AM 1150 will kick off with the pre-game show at 12:30.

Article Courtesy Of Evan Cooke


Robbie Rodrigues and the Sun ground game compiled 311 yards on Sunday. Robbie led the way with 183yds on 16 carries! He rattled off a 51 yard run, then caught one pass for 52 yards. In all he recorded 235 all-purpose yards and his first ever nod for Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) Offensive Player of the Week!
Photo of Robbie&Co from Kelownanowsports